

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MINUTES

27 MAY 2010

Chairman: * Councillor Jerry Miles

Councillors: * Sue Anderson * Paul Osborn

* Kam Chana* Ann Gate* Sachin Shah

* Barry Macleod-Cullinane * Stephen Wright

Voting Co-opted:

(Voluntary Aided)

(Parent Governors)

Mrs J Rammelt Reverend P Reece Mrs D Speel

1. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

2. Appointment of Vice-Chairman

RESOLVED: That Councillor Paul Osborn be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the 2010/11 Municipal Year.

^{*} Denotes Member present

RESOLVED ITEMS

3. Terms of Reference for the Proposed Health Sub-Committee

RESOLVED: That

- (1) the creation of a Health Sub-Committee be approved;
- (2) the terms of reference for the Health Sub-Committee be agreed as detailed in appendix I to these minutes.

4. Establishment of Sub-Committees for 2010/11

The Committee considered a report, setting out the proposed memberships and Chairmen of the Sub-Committees for 2010/11 which, in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, was admitted late to the agenda in order to enable the Sub-Committees to be established.

RESOLVED: That the Sub-Committees of the Overview and Scrutiny Committees be established for the Municipal Year 2010/11 with the memberships and Chairmen as detailed in appendix II to these minutes.

5. Appointment of Lead Members for Scrutiny 2010/11

The Committee considered proposals relating to Lead Members for Scrutiny for 2010/11 which, in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, was admitted late to the agenda in order to enable Lead Members to be agreed.

RESOLVED: That the Scrutiny Lead Members be agreed, as detailed in Appendix III to these minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 8.27 pm, closed at 8.32 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR JERRY MILES Chairman

HEALTH SUB-COMMITTEE

The Health Sub-Committee has the following powers and duties in relation to health matters:

- 1. to be the key driver of the scrutiny function's health scrutiny programme and relationships with health partners in relation to shared stated priorities, in consultation with the Overview & Scrutiny Committee;
- 2. to be responsible for the discharge of the functions conferred by Section 21(f) of the Local Government Act 2000 of reviewing and scrutinising, in accordance with regulations under Section 7 of the Health and Social Care Act 2001, matters relating to the planning, provision and operation of health services in Harrow;
- 3. to have specific responsibility for policy development and scrutiny of the following functions:
 - Health infrastructure and service;
 - Public Health:
 - collaborative working with health agencies;
 - commissioning and contracting health services.
- 4. to conduct research, community and other consultation in the analysis of policy issues and possible options;
- 5. to consider and make recommendations for response to NHS consultations on proposed substantial developments/variations in health services that would affect the people of LB Harrow;
- 6. to consider and make recommendations for response to consultations from local health trusts, Department of Health, Care Quality Commission and any organisation which provides health services outside the local authority's area to inhabitants within it;
- 7. continue to seek development of relationship with Care Quality Commission and Harrow Local Involvement Networks.

Any health matter requiring an urgent decision/comment before the next meeting of the Health Committee will be considered by the Overview and Scrutiny Committee if that is sooner.

SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

Labour Conservative (1) PERFORMANCE AND FINANCE SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEE (5) (3) (2)Sue Anderson (CH) **Tony Ferrari** I. **Jerry Miles Members Barry Macleod-Cullinane** Sachin Shah II. 1. Nana Asante 1. Chris Mote Reserve 2. Krishna Suresh 2. Susan Hall Members 3. Krishna James (2) HEALTH SUB-COMMITTEE (5) (3) (2)**Mrs Vina Mithani** I. **Ann Gate Members** Jerry Miles (CH) **Simon Williams** Varsha Parmar II. 1. Ben Wealthy 1. Barry Macleod-Cullinane 2. David Gawn 2. Mrs Lurline Champagnie OBE Reserve Members 3. Krishna James

CH = Chair

^{* =} Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters

(3) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)

	Labour	Conservative
	(3)	(2)
l. Members	Sue Anderson Jerry Miles (CH) Sachin Shah	Susan Hall Paul Osborn
II. Reserve Members	 Nana Asante Ann Gate Ajay Maru 	 Barry Macleod-Cullinane Tony Ferrari Kam Chana
	(4) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (Education) (9)	
	(7)	(2)
I. Members	Sue Anderson Nana Asante Ann Gate Ajay Maru Jerry Miles (CH) Varsha Parmar Sachin Shah	Husain Akhtar Christine Bednell
II. Reserve Members	1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7.	 Chris Mote Janet Mote Lynda Seymour Ramji Chauhan Mrs Camilla Bath
	Voting Co-opted Members: (1) Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector - Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece (2) Two representatives of Parent Governors - Mrs D Speel (Primary) / Vacancy (Secondary)	
CH *	= Chair= Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters	
†	[Note: The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06).]	

APPENDIX III

SCRUTINY LEAD MEMBERS 2010/11

Policy Lead Member	Councillor
Health and Social Care	Councillor Ann Gate
Children and Young People	Councillor Christine Bednell
Corporate Effectiveness and Finance	Councillor Jerry Miles
Safer and Stronger Communities	Councillor Chris Mote
Sustainability Development and Enterprise	Councillor Stanley Sheinwald

Performance Lead Member	Councillor
Health and Social Care	Councillor Mrs Vina Mithani
Children and Young People	Councillor Krishna James
Corporate Effectiveness and Finance	Councillor Tony Ferrari
Safer and Stronger Communities	Councillor Nana Asante
Sustainable Development and Enterprise	Councillor Sue Anderson